First trimester screening

Yesterday we had our first trimester screening to find out about any abnormalities and to do more blood work (yay) to screen for trisomy 13, 18, and 21. Doc said everything was looking good and even went so far as to say that he wasn’t worried about me miscarrying at this point! Doctors never give you that kind of reassurance unless they are 110% sure about something… given he did preface it with its still possible, but I’ll take that comment as a very good sign! After everything it’s quite relaxing to know that in general we’re almost out of the woods on that issue. 

The screening was pretty cool actually. It was the longest and most detailed ultrasound we’ve done and we got to see so much more of baby now! We saw ribs, spine, bladder, heart, brain, fingers, toes, a femur, a silhouette of baby, and even baby butt! At one point baby was annoyed with getting poked so much so our little lentil decided to lift his/her arm up as if to wave and then rolled over and went to sleep. Yup. Definitely my child. Not sure how we’re going to handle the attitude on this one…. but it’s going to be wonderful regardless. Today I have my next appt with my doctor- not fun having to drive all the way up there for a quick check, but maybe I’ll finally be taken off of my weight restrictions today! I’m very much hoping for that outcome. 6 weeks of not being allowed to lift anything heavier than a gallon of milk is horrible and I really want to get back to some kind of normalcy. Given, after all of the abnormal stuff with the IVF, a few weeks of not doing something isn’t that bad in comparison, but it’s also no walk in the park. Did you know that the simple act of doing IVF classifies you as a “high risk pregnancy”?! I mean, what the hell. Yeah, we’re probably considered high risk because we’re more likely to take your arm off if you suggest doing anything that might endanger our precious bundle of joy with all of the work we’ve done to make it in the first place, but seriously? What makes my particular set of issues a high risk? This is my first, IVF was (although not really) elective in our case, and I’ve had comments such as “your uterus looks perfect” and “everything is exactly how we need it” even a few “your ____ has really good numbers” and even “A ratings” on our embryos. I’ve never miscarried (cross our hearts and hope to die) and we’ve been really good all around. It’s just one of those things I guess. One of those, can’t be helped but just part of the process…….

On a separate note hubs and I had our first discussion for a while about what are we going to do with our remaining 5 embryos that are currently cryopreserved. We still have no idea what we’re going to do with them. They have the BRAC2 gene so in our eyes that makes it unfair to knowingly bring a child into the world with the serious potential for breast/ovarian or testicular cancer as they age. But they are ours and we don’t want to see someone else  raise our babies…. but on the same note it’s just genetic material, if my womb doesn’t grow and nurture them and someone else’s does that makes them the mom… but then there’s the issue of helping someone else to have a family- we have really good embryos, is it fair to not allow someone to have that chance because of how I look at our embryos if I’m able to donate them? And then of course is the question of can we donate them for research specific to eliminating breast/ovarian/testicular cancer on a genetic level? That would be the greatest gift I could ever give the world: take my embryo-babies and prevent more of my family and friends from suffering in the long run. Sigh. There’s no simple solution. It’s a good thing we have an entire year before they ask us what we want to do with them. It gives us some time to figure it out. Especially since we have so much going on right now. 

2 thoughts on “First trimester screening

  1. Haha, how adorable that baby rolled over! I can only imagine how easier it must be to sleep at night hearing that your chance of miscarriage is basically nonexistent! I’m so happy for you, that reassurance is everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It really is a weight off my shoulders for the time being. We decided to tell the people we interact with daily about our pregnancy as well as what’s been going on with the hemorrhage in the event that I needed extra support, but now it’s just nice to be more in the clear!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

